Wi-Fi Security Camera - How to reset your camera when you change modem or router

When you change your modem or router your camera will lose network connection and will go offline. To go back up online again, you must reset your camera and connect it to your new Wi-Fi network.

This guide applies to the following products: W281AA, W282CA, W261AS, W261AQ, LNWDB1, and V261LCD.

Here's how to do it.


Step 1. Press the Reset button once to activate the camera hotspot. It will broadcast a temporary Wi-Fi network.

NOTE: To find the location of the Reset button on your camera, check this article.

Step 2. Launch the Lorex Home app, then tap Device Settings.

Device Settings

Step 3. Scroll down and tap Wireless Network.

Wireless Network

Step 4. Tap Next.

Next

Step 5. When prompted to join the temporary Wi-Fi network, tap Join.

Join

Step 6. Wait for your device to connect to Device Hotspot.

Device Hotspot

Step 7. Enter your Device Password and tap Next.

Device Password

Step 8. Select your Wi-Fi Network, and tap Connect.

Wi-Fi Network

Step 9. Enter your network's Wi-Fi password and tap Connect.

Wi-Fi Password

Step 10. Wait for the camera LED to turn solid green, then tap Next.

Solid Green

Congratulations! You have reconnected your device to your new Wi-Fi network.

IMPORTANT: If you're in the process of completing the setup and the setup is interrupted, then your smartphone would automatically connect to the camera’s hotspot Wi-Fi. This means that the camera’s hotspot Wi-Fi is the current Wi-Fi network for your device. To properly connect the device to your own wireless network, you must either press Forget Network or Select your wireless network.

To properly connect the device to your new wireless network, follow these steps:

On your iOS or Android device, go to your Wi-Fi Settings, and tap Forget This Network on iOS or FORGET on Android.

Was This Content Helpful?